CITATION

INDIAN COUNCIL OF MEDICAL RESEARCH

DR. M. O. T. IYENGAR MEMORIAL AWARD 2017 DR PRADEEP KUMAR N.

The Dr M. O. T. Iyengar Memorial Award was instituted in 1983 by Smt. Rukmani Iyengar to honour a scientist for carrying out research in the field of malaria, filariasis, plague or medical entomology. The award for the year 2017 is being presented to Dr Pradeep Kumar N., ICMR-Vector Control Research Centre (VCRC)- Field Station, Kottayam (Kerala) for the research work on "Medical entomology- bringing in a novel and innovative dimension to the taxonomy of medically important insects".

The scientist developed and adopted DNA barcoding methodology for taxonomic identification of medically important insects, bringing in a novel and innovative dimension to the field of taxonomy. He developed molecular methods for surveillance of arbo-viral infections. He characterized the parasite species causing cutaneous leishmaniasis in Agasthyamala Biosphere Reserve forest, Kerala to be *Leishmania donovani*, a strain different from the one causing visceral leishmaniasis in northern India. His studies on genetic characterization of dengue viruses brought in dengue 4 serotype perhaps for the first time in Kerala.